Driving back from my parents house, I noticed my Zune took a **** on itself….froze up and all. Anyway, something along with a time paradox or the space-time continuum, or let’s just call it Z-Day. All 30GB Zunes hit the toilet according to Microsoft.

here’s the fix:
courtesy of Zune
My Zune 30 is frozen on the boot screen, now what do I do?

You will need to reboot your device after noon GMT on Jan 1, 2009.

Please unplug your Zune (no AC or USB cables).

Because your Zune is frozen your device battery will begin draining, this is good.

The battery will eventually be fully depleted and the screen will go black.

After noon GMT on January 1 (that’s 7 a.m. Eastern or 4 a.m. Pacific time) connect your AC power or USB cable such that the battery can begin charging again.

Once the Zune has enough battery to boot it should do so normally and you can go back to enjoying your Zune!

WOW!
Nice job Microsoft…..ok….really…seriously….considering…..iPod…..